A Beginner’s Guide To Crossfit

I’ve always been interested in Crossfit; I always watched it ESPN and hoped maybe some day I’d gain the courage and motivation to start. Today I was talking to my dad about doing it and I did some research and found some really amazing blogs and articles about it! I am far along now into my routine of working out and running that I am defiantly ready for it and highly motivated! I found a really great Crossfit gym by our house and the price is reasonable! I emailed the owner and asked for some more information and when I could start!

contest

Soon enough, I can share my own experiences of Crossfit with you all!

For those who are uncertain what Crossfit is….

Games2013_WomenZigZagSprint

CrossFit is a training program that builds strength and conditioning through extremely varied and challenging workouts.  Each day the workout will test a different part of your functional strength or conditioning, not specializing in one particular thing, but rather with the goal of building a body that’s capable of practically anything and everything.

(Further reading click here)

Now doesn’t that sound amazing?!! I am always up for challenging myself in practically anything, however testing my physical strength has always helped me accomplish greater things and help me strive to the best of my ability!

I came across a really great blog; Simply Sadie Jane, She writes about many different things and has great tutorials as well as tutorials for building your own Crossfit Gym!

Here’s a little Preview from Sadie’s blog!!

10488933_10100574559456974_1911811877_n

FOR ALL MY NEWBIES OUT THERE!!!

WOD: means Workout Of Day

…and the number sequence 5-5-5-5-5 or 21-15-9 means how many times you do that movement so for the Day 1: STRENGTH you do 5 rounds of 5 weighted squats and for the WOD portion: you do 21 jumping squats, 21 pushups, 21 mountain climber and 21 situps…THEN…you do 15 of all those and then 9!!!

EMOM: Every Minute On the Minute! So if you have to do 10 burpees EMOM, you start at the beginning of one minute and BUST OUT those 10 burpees then rest UNTIL the start of the next minute!!

DOUBLE UNDERS: this is just jump roping but you swing the jump rope twice under your feet when you jump up! This took me MONTHS to master! Singles work great as well!

Does that make sense?…email if you have any questions!

I ended up making a really ghetto video that explains all the movements involved in the at-home workouts! ENJOY!

Click here for Sadie Jane’s 6 Week at Home Crossfit Inspired Workout!!

Share your experiences with Crossfit below!! I very excited to see what you all have to say!!

Leave a Reply

