Baking Up a Storm!

Tomorrow is the day! I’m re-enlisting for another three years in the Navy! And the best part, My dad will be reciting the oath to me while we are both in uniform!! I will keep you all posted for the following days to come! Following the ceremony, we are throwing a summer picnic involving my whole command, amongst many friends and family!!

IMG_3179

We all met up for lunch at Subway! My usual sub: 6 in. Veggie on Honey Oat with lettuce, cucumber, green peppers, pickles & honey mustard. Something about the sub just hits the spot!! Afterwards My sister, Mary and I made a mini trip to the beach! That was her first time seeing the ocean and the weather was perfect!IMG_3180

 

In lieu of this picnic tomorrow Mary and I decided to make Dark Chocolate Brownies, Peanut Butter Blondies & Pasta Salad!! The brownies & blondies aren’t exactly as healthy as my usual sweet treats but they turned out wonderful or more so addictive!! I’m looking forward to sharing them with everyone!!

In the evening My sister wanted to take me Geocaching!! For anyone that isn’t aware, it’s like a treasure hunt using a gps! It was quite strange for me at first until we found it!! Plus it was nice to     move around in the evening then my usually laziness!IMG_3196The brownies I made are from a recipe I found on The Skinny Fork! They are so moist and fluffy! I could eat them all day!! I made my brownies with slightly different ingredients, But they’re turned out just wonderfully!

Skinny Whole Wheat Brownies
TheSkinnyFork.com

The Skinny:
Servings: 12 • Size: 1 Square • Calories: 145.8 • Fat: 4.2 g • Carb: 23.2 g • Fiber: 1.3 g • Protein: 1.5 g • Sugar: 17.5 g • Sodium: 104.2 mg

Ingredients:
1/4 C. Honey
2 Oz. Semi Sweet Chocolate, Chopped (I used Baker’s) (I used 4 squares of 90% cocoa from a chocolate bar)IMG_3189
2 Tbsp. Cocoa Powder  (I used 1/4 cup of Dark Cocoa Powder)
2 Tbsp. Dark Cocoa Powder
1/2 C. Whole Wheat White Flour (I replaced white flour to whole wheat flour)
1/4 Tsp. Baking Powder
1/4 Tsp. Baking Soda
1/4 Tsp. Salt

 
1/2 C. Brown Sugar
1/2 C. Unsweetened Apple Sauce
1 Egg
3/4 Tsp. Vanilla
2 Tbsp. Olive Oil
1/4 C. Semi Sweet Chocolate Chips

Directions:
Preheat oven to 350 degrees F and line an 8×8 baking pan with parchment paper. In a microwave safe bowl, combine the honey and chopped chocolate. Melt in 15-30 second intervals, being careful not to burn! Allow to cool. In the mean time, in a small bowl, whisk together the cocoa powders, flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt; set aside. In a large bowl, beat together the brown sugar, apple sauce, egg, vanilla, and olive oil.

Add the melted chocolate and honey to the egg mixture and blend. Carefully add in the flour mixture and beat until all is well combined. Spread the batter into the prepared baking dish and sprinkle the chocolate chips over the top. Bake for 30-40 minutes or until an inserted toothpick comes out clean. Remove from the oven and allow to cool completely before cutting into 12 equal squares.

And Now…. Peanut Butter Blondies!!

This recipe is very simple yet delicious! Most the ingredients, I’m sure you already have; therefore, no need to run out to the store instantly to make this lovely little darlings!

IMG_3188

Here’s what you’ll need….

Yields 16 brownies

  • 3 eggs
  • 1 & 1/2 cups sugar (Stevia for a sensible option)
  • 3/4 cups brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup Peanut Butter (I used Jiff, however any kind will do)
  • 1/4 cup margarine, softened
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 2 cups whole wheat flour, sifted
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Grease an 9X13 baking dish.

Combine the eggs, both sugars, peanut butter, butter, and vanilla in the bowl of your stand mixer. Beat on medium until well mixed and smooth. In a separate small bowl, combine the flour, baking powder & salt. Slowly add the dry ingredients to the peanut butter mixture until incorporated.

Spread the dough out into the prepared pan. Bake for 25 – 30 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the middle comes out clean. Allow to cool & then cut into squares.

Recipe inspired by Moms Test Kitchen

I hope you all enjoy!

I’d love to know… What is your favorite treat to share with others??

IMG_3078

 

Leave a Reply

