A Day of Clean Eating!

I’ve been such a baking bee today! 

I spent most of the day at home relaxing and right before my lunch I went for my run! I don’t think I could function if I didn’t get a workout in. I’m glad it’s the weekend so I have time to do the things I enjoy.
Cody had a rough morning, he helped his friend move some car parts and with his back problems already, he was defiantly sore afterwards.

For lunch I made Cody two peanut butter sandwiches and I decided to make a healthy batch of chicken salad! I put it in a petite whole grain pita with some veggies and hummus on the side! 

While Cody took his nap, I cleaned myself up and decided to grab some Starbucks, I always love the Skinny Mocha Frappuccino! I also stopped at Walmart on my way home to pick up some bananas and I found the cutest cup! Now I can transport my smoothies in style! haha!

I had homework to catch up on, so I wanted to make a quick healthy dinner. We’ve been eating out a lot lately and it was nice to spend some time in the kitchen cooking. I chose to make Cheesy Pesto Pasta! My last attempt at this recipe didn’t turn out as well as I hoped. It was super dry although it had a good flavor, I thought of a better way to make it and it turned out amazing! 

So I will share it with all of you! 
 

You’ll need: 
1/2 box of Whole Wheat Rigatoni or Penne
2 Tbsp of Pesto (you can use store bought or make your own)
2 Tbsp Parmesan Cheese
1 Tsp Italian Seasoning
2 Tsp Garlic Powder
1/2 Cup Sliced Red Onion
2 Cups Shredded Mozzarella (part skim) Cheese
Sausage Crumbles (optional)

1. Boil water for noodles, and cook as directed on the box.
2. Preheat oven to 400 degrees & add pesto, parmesan, seasoning,
garlic and 1 cup of cheese into a large bowl
3. Once pasta is done, add to bowl and mix well until cheese melts.

4. Spray pan or glass baking dish with cooking spray
5. Add pasta mix to dish and add the remaining cheese on top. (You can add what ever you like on     top with the cheese, We used sausage and onion!)
6. Place in preheated oven and bake for about 15 minutes or until cheese is melted.
And there you go! Super easy to make!
Leave a Reply

